SATURDAY 9 NOVEMBER 2013, 7.45pm, St Cecilia's Hall
The Bach PlayersPour le Souper du Roy

This programme paints a musical picture of the chamber music presented to Louis XIV by his favourite composers. Those allowed into the inner circle of the king were given the title 'musicien pour la chambre du Roy': their tasks included providing music for the king in his private chambers and some of the best chamber music of the period was written for these occasions. This concert offers a rare chance to hear the work of the virtuoso harpsichordist and composer Élisabeth Jacquet de la Guerre, it includes Marin Marais' enactment of a surgical operation (with narration), and concludes with the stirring "Sonnerie" by Marais.

"consistent outstandingly musical performances" – Early Music Review

Click here to buy tickets.

The Bach Players
Photos: Robin Kinross